What The Future Holds

I haven’t been writing a whole lot lately. I have replaced writing with reading, praying, and hoping things begin to fall into place for my precisely laid out plan for my future. I needed to take some time to fix myself. A good friend told me, “Your mind is like an ankle sprain. Sometimes you need to ice, heal, and rest to be able to keep going. You won’t run up and down the street in heels. It’s the same with your mental health. You have to heal your mind if you’re not in a good place.” I found strength in admitting that I wasn’t happy, and I’m lucky to have people in my life that care enough to listen and provide help.


I have been bitching to my friends and family about how much I’m not enjoying my current job. I’m a big advocate of, if you don’t like the way things are going, change them. So after about a year and a half of, “should I do this” I decided to go back to school to get my Sports Psychology degree. Then will lunge into a doctoral program in the hopes of getting my Psy.D and becoming a doctor of the sports mind.

3cc741f2e727ddb2d2110304d537c01a

Six to eight long years ahead plus exams, boards, getting a clinical license, and finding a job. When I think too far ahead I wonder what I’m doing. So I’m looking just as far as my Master’s degree. Small steps in the direction of my long term goal, my very expensive long term goal.

I’m going in the direction of myself and my dreams. I have met some really amazing people recently who have restored my faith in good, kind human beings. I am leaning on my true friends for love and support. I am confiding in my family for guidance and advice on life. I’m taking risks and trying not to freak out in the process.

63f50e2e8dd2b6b2dd0e6e3cdab9e750

I have accomplished a lot in the last few weeks, and I intend to keep pushing forward. For the first time in a while, I’m proud of myself.

~S

Leave a Reply

